LibGuides: Paralegal Studies: Highlighted Resources

Course Reserves

Criminal Justice by Frank Schmalleger
ISBN: 9780135186268
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
For introductory courses in criminal justice. The gold standard for criminal justice texts Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction examines crime in the US with a focus on police, courts, and corrections. Students contemplate the fine line separating freedom from security, and evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the American justice system. A wealth of Internet resources along with author tweets (@schmalleger) build on central ideas in the text, while keeping pace with changes in a continually changing field. Emphasizing the need for systemic change, the 13th edition includes revised coverage of large-scale crimes pervasive in the US, as well as policing issues and challenges, sentencing guidelines, and state laws redefining the age of criminal responsibility. Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction, 13th Edition, is also available via Revel(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Juvenile Delinquency , Student Value Edition by Clemens Bartollas; Frank Schmalleger; Michael Turner
ISBN: 9780135181393
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Explores delinquency, including its causes, consequences, and treatments. Unified by a theme of prevention, it analyzes what can be done about delinquent behavior. The text draws on real-life scenarios, statistics, and evidence-based findings to illuminate core influences on delinquency, including gangs, race, gender, and socioeconomic status. The 10th edition has been substantially updated, such as with new information on delinquency over the life course and the most recent studies and statistics relevant to the study of juvenile justice.

Federal Law

Click here to view eBooks on Federal Law!

GovInfo provides public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

This site contains government documents and information, including: an annotated constitution, legislation, committee reports, congressional records, and treaty documents. Congress.gov is an excellent source for information on in-progress bills.

Legal Information Institute (LII)

LII provides open access to legal materials. Resources include: annotated version of the constitution, federal statutes, Supreme Court decisions, CFR, and more.

USA.gov

This website offers a wealth of federal government information. It includes links to the websites of departments, and agencies and branches of government. This can be useful for finding statutory and legislative materials.

LawSource ALSO

Here you can find U.S. legal materials, including state and federal amicus briefs.

U.S. House of Representatives

The Office of the Law Revision Counsel offers the most recent version of the U.S. Code. The website allows users to search the code. The website also provides access to session laws.

American Memory

The Library of Congress' American Memory collection includes Congressional Records up to 1875. It can be searched or browsed.

State Case Law & Court Documents

Click here to view eBooks on State Law!

National Center for State Courts - Court Websites

This website collects data on state courts and also includes links to state court websites

National Conference of State Legislatures

This website includes a searchable database of state legislature websites.

Caselaw Access Project

The Caselaw Access Project provides access to U.S. law, digitized from the Harvard Law Library collection. U.S. court decisions are freely available online, in a consistent format.

Open States

Here, the Sunlight Foundation provides access to state legislative information including pending legislation and votes.

Justia.com

Justia.com includes an extensive database of federal cases.

Cornell Legal Information Institute

Cornell LII contains constitutions, statutes and legislative information by state.

LLRX

LLRX offers a free collection of state court rules, forms and dockets.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Click here to access law textbooks through the Open Textbook Library!

Use the search bar below to look for open access law materials!

Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts (by EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts is the leading bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Criminal Justice Database (by ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. It also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.

Paralegal Studies

Need help? Chat with us!

General Information

Course Reserves

Federal Law

State Case Law & Court Documents

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Databases