Curriculum 21 by
What year are you preparing your students for? 1973? 1995? Can you honestly say that your school's curriculum and the program you use are preparing your students for 2015 or 2020? Are you even preparing them for today?"" With those provocative questions, author and educator Heidi Hayes Jacobs launches a powerful case for overhauling, updating, and injecting life into the K-12 curriculum. Sharing her expertise as a world-renowned curriculum designer and calling upon the collective wisdom of 10 education thought leaders, Jacobs provides insight and inspiration in the following key areas: Content and assessment: How to identify what to keep, what to cut, and what to create, and where portfolios and other new kinds of assessment fit into the picture. Program structures: How to improve our use of time and space and groupings of students and staff. Technology: How it's transforming teaching, and how to take advantage of students' natural facility with technology. Media literacy: The essential issues to address, and the best resources for helping students become informed users of multiple forms of media. Globalization: What steps to take to help students gain a global perspective. Sustainability: How to instill enduring values and beliefs that will lead to healthier local, national, and global communities. Habits of mind: The thinking habits that students, teachers, and administrators need to develop and practice to succeed in school, work, and life. The answers to these questions and many more make Curriculum 21 the ideal guide for transforming our schools into what they must become: learning organizations that match the times in which we live.
Effective Teaching Methods by
For graduate and undergraduate courses in general K-12 methods. The new edition of this popular text clearly achieves its stated goal: to prepare prospective teachers to meet the challenges of today's changing classrooms by providing effective, practical, research-based practices in an accessible, conversational style. Material is based on a quarter-century of actual, in-classroom research that makes it possible to replace anecdotal suggestions for good teaching with solidly research-grounded strategies empirically related to positive outcomes. The author shows future teachers not only what to do to meet today's teaching challenges, but how to do it through the experiences of real teachers in real classrooms.
Exceptional Learners by
Exceptional Learners is an outstanding introduction to the characteristics of exceptional learners and their education, emphasizing classroom practices as well as the psychological, sociological, and medical aspects of disabilities and giftedness. In keeping with this era of accountability, all discussions and examples of educational practices are grounded in a sound research base. With over 600 new references added to the 11th edition, the authors are committed to bringing the most current and credible perspectives to bear on the ever-increasing complexity of educating students with special needs in today's schools. The authors believe firmly that responsible instruction can help all students to maximize their potential, and they offer practical suggestions for ways in which educators can meet the educational needs of students with special needs and diverse abilities in collaborative environments that include families, other professionals, and the community.
Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale by
Designed for use in center-based child care programs for infants and toddlers up to 30 months of age, the Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale®, ITERS-R, can be used by program directors for supervision and program improvement, by teaching staff for self‑assessment, by agency staff for monitoring, and in teacher training programs. The established reliability and validity of the scale make it particularly useful for research and program evaluation. Featuring a spiral binding, the updated ITERS-R offers more practical assistance in the form of additional notes for clarification and an Expanded Scoresheet, which incorporates notes and tables to assist in scoring. However, the items and indicators remain the same as in the original ITERS-R. Convenient organization in seven subscales: Space and Furnishings Personal Care Routines Listening and Talking Activities Interaction Program Structure Parents and Staff Each of the 39 Items is expressed as a 7‑point scale with indicators for 1 (inadequate), 3 (minimal), 5 (good), and 7 (excellent). Notes for clarification and questions are included for selected Items. An introductory section gives detailed information about the rationale of the ITERS-R, the process of revision, and the reliability and validity of the scale. Full instructions for administration and scoring, as well as a Scoresheet and Profile that may be photocopied, are included with the scale.
Kaleidoscope by
This comprehensive collection of high-interest readings drawn from a wide range of sources (contemporary, classic, academic, and popular) is designed to correlate with the goals of Introduction to Education and Foundations in Education courses. Accompanying pedagogical features, such as introductions, focus questions, post-reading notes, discussion questions, and a glossary, engage students and guide them in thinking critically about the readings. The book's diversity of articles and writers -- from the classic John Dewey and Carl Rogers to the contemporary Diane Ravitch, Elliot Eisner, Linda Darling-Hammond, and Alfie Kohn -- makes it highly flexible and responsive to a broad variety of course needs. Topic areas include students and teachers; schools and instruction; curriculum and standards; foundations, philosophy, and reform; educational technology; and diversity and social issues.
Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom, 3rd Edition by
"To respect the many differences between people"--this is what Howard Gardner says is the purpose of learning about multiple intelligences (MI) theory, which holds that the human mind is composed of eight intelligences--linguistic, logical-mathematical, spatial, bodily-kinesthetic, musical, interpersonal, intrapersonal, and naturalistic--plus a possible ninth (existential). This updated 3rd edition of Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom, Thomas Armstrong's bestselling practical guide for educators, includes two new chapters that address the worldwide reach of MI and rebut some common criticisms of the theory. This new edition includes updated information and resources throughout the text to help educators at all levels apply MI theory to curriculum development, lesson planning, assessment, special education, cognitive skills, educational technology, career development, educational policy, and more. The book includes dozens of practical tips, strategies, and examples from real schools and districts. Armstrong provides tools, resources, and ideas that educators can immediately use to help students of all ages achieve their fullest potential in life.
Observation Skills for Effective Teaching by
For courses in student teaching or general methods. The author presents observation skills according to eight areas related to positive outcomes in learners which include: learning climate, classroom management, lesson clarity, instructional variety, task orientation, student engagement, student success, and higher thought processes. Observation skills are combined with patterns of effective teaching practice for each of the eight areas to help students observe what happens in the classroom and use what is learned to improve their own teaching. This book can be used as a companion volume to Borich's Effective Teaching Methods, fourth edition, as a stand-alone text for an observation course taken before or during a methods course, and as a resource during student teaching.
School Law and the Public Schools by
School Law and the Public Schools is a practical, easy to read, comprehensive guide to the legal issues facing public schools in the U.S. today. An essential reference for all teachers, educational leaders, and policymakers at all levels, the book is organized and written in a style that is accessible to all, even those with little or no knowledge of the legal issues in education.
Scoring Rubrics in the Classroom by
A practical guide to more effective assessment for improved student learning Learn how to be more consistent in judging student performance, and help your students become more effective at assessing their own learning! This book offers a practical approach to assessing challenging but necessary performance tasks, like creative writing, "real-world" research projects, and cooperative group activities. Judith Arter and Jay McTighe, experts in the field of assessment, wrote Scoring Rubrics in the Classroom to help you achieve three main goals: Clarify the targets of instruction, especially for hard-to-define problem solving Provide valid and reliable assessment of student learning Improve student motivation and achievement by helping students understand the nature of quality for performances and products Each chapter is framed by an essential question and includes illustrative stories, practical examples, tips and cautions, and a summary of key points and recommended resources for further information. The resources section contains a wealth of rubrics to adopt or adapt. Teachers and administrators will find this an essential resource in increasing teacher effectiveness and student performance.
Teaching the Tiger by
Provides information to teachers and parents to aid in the teaching of students with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Tourette Syndrome or Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. A reviewer says: "A marvelous compendium of wisdom, gained through experience. This book will prove to be a frequently used reference for anyone involved with children and adults who suffer from these invisible neurological handicaps . . .every chapter is of practical use and assistance. These two writers understand what every child and adult go through when they suffer from these conditions . . . I cannot recommend the book enough. I know that it will become a desk manual that I will use on a regular basis." (See related book ADHD: A Survival Guide for Parents and Teachers).
Transforming Learning with New Technologies by
Interactive, organized by learning goals for teachers and students, and responsive to ISTE standards,New Teachers/New Technologies: Engaging Students, Teaching Content, Transforming Learningshows readers how to integrate computers, Internet-based technologies, and emerging Web 2.0 tools to transform teaching and learning in K-12 schools. This practical text introduces students to the multiple ways that technology can create highly interactive, inquiry-based teaching and learning experiences. It features more than 70 free (or low-cost), easy-to-use computer and Internet technologies that teachers can integrate in every aspect of their professional work-classroom instruction–lesson planning, student assessment, curriculum development, academic research, and professional networking–as well as Technology Transformation Lesson Plans, which show teachers how to integrate technology into classroom lessons while expanding and extending learning goals in all subject areas. The text’s interactive learning experiences for readers offer thought-provoking questions, lesson plan templates, and links to MyEducationLab, Pearson’s premiere online resource with video, tutorials, podcasts, rubrics and checklists, web links and web activities, practice tests, and activities to build teaching skills and dispositions.